The leading regualtory authority

for health practitioners.

The Board

The Council regulates the health professions in the country in aspects pertaining to registration, education and training, professional conduct and ethical behaviour, ensuring continuing professional development, and fostering compliance with healthcare standards.

The Board

Membership of the Council
The Council consists of thirteen members of whom two were appointed by the Minister and the remainder were elected by the allied health practitioners. Each of the classes stated below is represented among the elected members of the council;
  • a) one is a registered Clinical Social worker representing Clinical Social Workers
  • b) one is a registered Dietician representing Dieticians and Nutritionists
  • c) one is a registered Health Education Promotion Officer representing Health Education promotion Officers
  • d) one is a Hospital Food Services Supervisor representing Hospital Food Services Supervisors
  • e) two are registered practitioners from the paramedical register representing Ambulance Technicians, Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics
  • f) two are registered psychologists representing Psychologists
  • g) two are registered Radiographers representing Radiographers, X-ray operators, Nuclear Medicine Practitioners and Ultra sonographers;
  • h) one is a registered Chiropractor representing the following professions
  • i. Natural therapists (chiropractors, homeopaths, acupuncturists, naturopaths and Ayurveda practitioners
  • ii. Medical physicists
  • iii. E.E.G technicians
  • iv. E.C.G Technicians
  • v. Hospital equipment technicians
  • vi. Clinical assistants
  • vii. Dyslexia therapists
  • viii. Operating theatre technicians
  • ix. Remedial gymnasts.

AHPCZ Council Members

1 Mrs D. Machando (Chairperson) Psychologists
2 Ms T. P. Zata (Vice Chairperson) Clinical Social Workers
3 Ms E. Maguranyanga Radiographers & X-Ray Operators
4 Ms M. Manyasha Dieticians and Nutritionists
5 Mr B. Masango Ambulance Technicians, Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics
6 Mr E. Nharirire Psychologists
7 Ms J. Rusakaniko Hospital Food Services Supervisors
8 Ms G. Simbarewamwe Health Education Promotion Officers
9 Mr M. Smythe Ambulance Technicians, Emergency medical Technicians and Paramedics
10 Mr A. Zanga Radiographers & X-Ray Operators
11 Dr E. Heath Natural Therapists, Clinical Assistants, Medical Physicists, EEG Technicians, ECG Technicians, Hospital Equipment Technicians
12 Mr W. Nkatazo Financial Advisor
13 Ms. E. Makaka Legal Representative